Hop-on/off Trolley: 2-day pass
  • show all
 

Hop-on/off Trolley: 2-day pass

A $42.00 value - Included with your Go Boston Card!

Few things are as fun as a Boston Trolley Tour. It also happens to be one of the most convenient ways to really see the city since you can hop on or off at any of the 16 stops. Begin this entertaining, narrated tour of Boston's highlights at the "Pru” or at historic Quincy Market.

Boston is a city full of distinct neighborhoods and the bright red Beantown Trolley brings this New England capitol to life for you. Sit back and relax during your 110-minute tour, which is narrated by expert Bostonian guides and covers all of Boston's highlights. Take the tour at your own pace with the freedom to disembark and re-board at your convenience. There are twenty stops along the Beantown Trolley’s route for you to choose from. Travel around the loop as many times as you like for a period of up to two days!

Redemption Instructions

Take your valid SmartDestinations pass to any of the three pick-up locations to get your 2-day trolley pass. We have three locations to pick up your trolley pass:

Waterfront: The RED Beantown Trolley booth is located near the New England Aquarium across from Legal Seafoods. (Note: Only open weekends Dec. 1 - Mar. 31)

City Place: MA Transportation Building, 16 S. Charles St.

Prudential Center: 800 Boylston St. The Beantown Trolley booth is located in the Prudential Center next to the walkway connecting it to the Copley Mall.(Note: Closed Dec. 1 - Mar. 31)

The trolley route is the same no matter which location you choose, so pick whichever is most convenient for you.

Please remember, your card is activated the first time it is used, so your trolley pass must be picked up during the time that your card is valid.

Closings

Major Storms
Thanksgiving Day
Christmas Day
Patriot's Day
All holiday hours are subject to change without notice.

Reservation Instructions

This tour often fills up during busy times (i.e. Summer and holidays). Groups of 10 or more are encouraged to call in advance for arrangements and may not be able to travel together. On occasion this tour may not run due to extreme inclement weather.

Be sure to check with your agent for the last boarding time of the day.

Note

 Limit of a single 2-day pass per card. Trolley passes are valid for consecutive days only. Go Boston Card must be presented on the day of service.

Phone: (617) 720-6342
Please call in advance to arrange for a disabled access trolley.

Website: www.brushhilltours.com

Review Snapshot® by PowerReviews Express
 3.4 out of 5 stars (based on 19 customer ratings)
Average Rating for Hop-on/off Trolley: 2-day pass
0% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.
Tried it? Write a Review
Displaying Reviews 1-10 of 19 Back to Top Previous | Next »
Don't bother
By Kid from Miami, FL on
Best Uses:
Short Stays
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Smart Destinations Hop-On/Off Beantown Trolley:

Buses barely came by. Schedule was terrible. Ride was very uncomfortable. Couldn't hear driver over roar of engine. Terrible. We used it once and had to run off the bus. Try another company.

Smart Destinations Response: Thank you for taking the time to let us know about this negative experience you had with the Trolley. We take our cutsomers feedback very seriously and work directly with the attractions to ensure positive experiences. If you are able to send us an email to customerservice@smartdestinations.com explaining a bit further about what happened here, that would be very helpful. We are also happy to look at your order and make any changes that are necessary/applicable. We apologize on behalf of the Trolley service and hope to speak with you soon. -Smart Destinations Team
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No- You may also flag this review.

Avoid it
By Adam Verified Reviewer from NY on
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Smart Destinations Hop-On/Off Beantown Trolley:

The instruction says trolley passes can be picked up at Prudential Center. We went there and it was closed. We had to go to City Place to get the passes and was told the Prudential Center was not YET available even though it was listed as one of the three pickup locations. The buses were very infrequent. We waited an hour to get on one. This means hop on hop off is never really an option. Once you hop off, expect to wait an hour or so to hop on, if it ever shows up. By the way, the bus does not have any sign to indicate it is Beantown Trolley. I mention this because there are quite a few other trolley bus operators and they all share the same route so it can be confusing without the sign.

Smart Destinations Response: Hi Adam, We apologize for these issues that arose with the Trolley service while on your trip. Are you able to send us an email directly with your order number included so that we can understand what exactly went wrong here? We have spoken to this attraction directly and are happy to look at your order to make any adjustments possible. Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we can improve. -Smart Destinations Team
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No- You may also flag this review.

Our most disappointing attraction
By Basil from Wyoming on
Cons:
Uninformed Staff Pricey product Overrated Attractions Included
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Smart Destinations Hop-On/Off Beantown Trolley:

Tour bills itself as an on off tour around the city with many great attractions along the way. We were excited to use this as a way to explore the city for a couple days while also getting a tour built in. Couldn't have been more wrong! They only had two buses working, so any stop you got off on gave you less than an hour to explore. It was unclear when the tours began each day, but we did know they finished their day on the 2pm tour. With the limited hours and trips we found it impossible to see more than a couple attractions and that was if we bolted through the attraction. We felt like we were always watching the clock in fear we would be stranded for another hour. We also felt stranded because, the stops aren't labeled in any way. If you planned to walk to one of the other stops you wouldn't know where they would pick you up, or if there is system for that no one explained it. Also, the guides were awful. While giving good info, they were monotone and lacked any excitement. Skywalk audio tour recording had more flavor. They also weren't able to tell us when the tours started the next day and how late they would run. They insisted on having the windows open on a cooler day and the last tour was so packed many people were standing for the hour plus as they picked up people from around the tour. I've done similar tours in other cities and found them fantastic, with easily labeled stops, buses every 10-15 minutes, and charismatic guides. We had built this as a key to our visit and felt drastically ripped off as this was one of our most expensive attractions. We were so disappointed in the first day we cut our losses and explored via the subway. I would happily try one of the multiple competitors that passed us several times with more buses while we sat waiting for ours. Really disappointed that a company with such bad travel site reviews would be associated with this attractions card.

Smart Destinations Response: Hi Basil, We are very sorry to hear about this negative experience you had with the bus attraction. We take our customer feedback very seriously, so appreciate you letting us know that you did not enjoy this attraction. Our team is going to contact them to find out more information and if you are able to send us a direct email as well with any additional information, we will be happy to look at your order and make any applicable changes! Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. -Smart Destinations
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No- You may also flag this review.

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

Not recommended
By Not happy in Boston from Boston, MA on
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Smart Destinations Hop-On/Off Beantown Trolley:

I live in Boston and use the different trolley tours when friends and family come in to visit. This was the 1st and last time I will use Beantown Trolley. They say they come every 40 mins. This could be argued as the driver asked us many times to tell his boss no one was there are no one appeared to be "running" toward us. Having been on several other tour companies, I would say I learned a lot from the various tours I have been on, but SOME of the Beantown driver appear to want to practice their poor stand up routines and tour guide less. All of that I could have avoided until my family I and I were left stranded at one of the stops. We waited over 20 min after the trolley was supposed to arrive (assuming it was rush hour traffic). They I called dispatch and was told it would be another 30 min!?!?!? Sadly we waited and no one showed. We walked 30 min to catch the train. I highly recommend Old Towne Trolley: they pick up/drop off SEVERAL times during an hour and give very informative tours.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No- You may also flag this review.

[2 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

Beantown Trolley ROCKS!
By 9-W-21 Verified Reviewer from Buffalo NY on
Pros:
Dropped Off At Hotel, Picked Up At Hotel
Cons:
One Dud Driver,
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Smart Destinations Hop-On/Off Beantown Trolley:

Visited Boston on a 3 day tour. We didn't know on day one that the Trolley would pick us up at the hotel. Took full advantage on days 2 and 3. Thank yous go to Chris and Tony for getting us back to the hotel safely! Great trolley rides, we toured a few times just cuz the guys were informative and great to talk with.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No- You may also flag this review.

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

Nice way to get a snapshop of the city
By Car Verified Reviewer from Argentina on
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Smart Destinations Hop-On/Off Beantown Trolley:

Very good!

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No- You may also flag this review.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

such a thriller
By ccdenice from Texas on
Pros:
Scotty Was Great
Cons:
John Seemed New
Best Uses:
Nonstop entertainment Informative Funny Knowledgeable Bostonion Tour Guide
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Smart Destinations Hop-On/Off Beantown Trolley:

Scotty was our favorite guide. I can't say enough good things about him. I wish they were all as entertaining and knowledgeable and as Boston as he is.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No- You may also flag this review.

[7 of 7 customers found this review helpful]

Great way to get an overview
By Loving Boston Verified Reviewer from San Francisco CA on
Cons:
Wait Time Long Takes 30 To 60 Minutes
Best Uses:
Overview of city
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Smart Destinations Hop-On/Off Beantown Trolley:

We are from California in Boston for 5 days. Second time here. First time we came we rented a car and drove: bad idea. This time no car. Purchased "Go Boston Card" which includes 2 days of trolley. Took trolley first day, took full 17 stop loop. Great idea! This gave us a very good overview of many things to do in Boston. The driver, Scottie, was very charming with his fabulous Bostonian accent. The tour was informative, funny, and overall entertaining. Make sure to take trolley on day that you are not in a hurry and when you feel patient and open to enjoy people watching. The trolleys were 30-60 minutes apart and very full. Sometimes people at stops could not board and had to wait for second trolley to pick them up.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No- You may also flag this review.

[16 of 16 customers found this review helpful]

Tour guide new his facts
By Glen Verified Reviewer from Ontario Canada on
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Smart Destinations Hop-On/Off Beantown Trolley:

I recommend getting on at the aquarium ( This is the 1st stop for a fresh trolley). People had a hard time reboarding once you get off. Stay on and revisit the sights you want a closer look at later. Great way to jam in the sights so you can see as much as you can in the shortest amount of time.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No- You may also flag this review.

[3 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

excellent commentary and tour
By lulu from Solon, Ohio on
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Smart Destinations Hop-On/Off Beantown Trolley:

funny commentary and fun to be on tour.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No- You may also flag this review.

Hours

April - October: 9:00 am-4:00 pm
November - March: 9:00 am-3:00 pm
December 1 - March 31- Waterfront location operates weekends only and the Prudential location is CLOSED.
Be sure to check with your agent for the last boarding time of the day.

Public Transportation

Take the T: Blue Line to Aquarium T stop for the Waterfront location.

Take the T: Green Line to Boylston Street stop. Upon exit, take a right on Boylston Street. Make a left on Charles Street. The entrance to City Place is just after P.F. Changs on your left.

Take the T: Green Line "E" to Prudential stop for Prudential Center.

Address

Waterfront: The RED Beantown Trolley booth is located near the New England Aquarium across from Legal Seafoods.
City Place: MA Transportation Building, 16 S. Charles St.
Prudential Center, 800 Boylston St. The Beantown Trolley booth is located in the Prudential Center next to the walkway connecting it to the Copley Mall.
Boston, MA 02116

Save Big on Boston's Top Attractions

Build Your Own Pass

Save 20% to 25% when you buy 2 or more attractions.

Get Started

All-Inclusive Pass

Save up to 55% on 40+ attractions for one low price.

Learn More

Go Boston Card

  • Visit any or all of the included 49 attractions.
  • Save up to 55% off gate prices.
  • Skip the ticket line at many top attractions.

At a Glance

Address

Waterfront: The RED Beantown Trolley booth is located near the New England Aquarium across from Legal Seafoods.
City Place: MA Transportation Building, 16 S. Charles St.
Prudential Center, 800 Boylston St. The Beantown Trolley booth is located in the Prudential Center next to the walkway connecting it to the Copley Mall.
Boston, MA 02116

Phone: (617) 720-6342
Please call in advance to arrange for a disabled access trolley.

Website: www.brushhilltours.com

Adult Gate PriceChild Gate Price
$42.00 $20.00