Close

Hop-on/off Trolley: 2-day pass

Gate Prices: Adult $42.00 / Child $16.00
3.3/5 22 Reviews
Beantown Trolley Tour 4 Beantown Trolley Tour 2 Beantown Trolley Tour 5 Beantown Trolley Tour 1 Beantown Trolley Tour 3
Gate Prices Adult $42.00
Child $16.00
  • Takes about 2 hrs
  • Back Bay/Fenway
  • (617) 720-6342
    Please call in advance to arrange for a disabled access trolley.
  • www.brushhilltours.com

Few things are as fun as a Boston Trolley Tour. It also happens to be one of the most convenient ways to really see the city since you can hop on or off at any of the 16 stops. Begin this entertaining, narrated tour of Boston's highlights at the "Pru” or at historic Quincy Market.

Boston is a city full of distinct neighborhoods and the bright red Beantown Trolley brings this New England capitol to life for you. Sit back and relax during your 110-minute tour, which is narrated by expert Bostonian guides and covers all of Boston's highlights. Take the tour at your own pace with the freedom to disembark and re-board at your convenience. There are sixteen stops along the Beantown Trolley’s route for you to choose from. Travel around the loop as many times as you like for a period of up to two days!

The Beantown Trolley takes you through the affluent and politically-charged Beacon Hill neighborhood and into the trendy and elegant retail district of Newbury Street. You’ll also pass by historic Faneuil Hall Marketplace, and visit legendary Charlestown, where you’ll see the Bunker Hill Monument and Pavilion, among other sights.

Because you are afforded the flexibility to hop on and off at any of the sixteen stops along the way – including the Museum of Fine Arts and the Seaport District - Beantown Trolley is a convenient means of transport to many of the best attractions and sights in Boston. Skip the rental car, and opt instead for this dual-functioning trolley that will make your trip easy and memorable.

Here is the list of the Beantown Trolley stops where you can hop on or off (just make sure you have picked up your ticket before hopping on for the first time!):

  • New England Aquarium & Quincy Market
  • North End: Paul Revere House & Old North Church
  • USS Constitution (“Old Ironsides”) & Bunker Hill Monument
  • Faneuil Hall, the Site of the Boston Massacre & the Old State House
  • Theater District & Chinatown
  • Boston Public Gardens & Swan Boats
  • “Cheers”
  • Copley Square, Newbury Street, Trinity Church & the MFA Connector
  • Shops at the Prudential Center, Mary Baker Eddy Library & the Christian Science Center
  • Fenway Park & House of Blues
  • Cambridge: Harvard & MIT
  • Antique Row, Beacon Hill & Charles Street
  • State House, Boston Common & Beacon Hill
  • West End, Old West Church & Government Center
  • Seaport District & the Seaport Hotel
  • Rowes Wharf, South Station & the Boston Harbor Hotel

A Go Boston® Card is the best choice for maximum savings and flexibility, which includes discount Hop-On Hop-Off Boston Trolley tickets, plus admission to dozens more top attractions.

Getting In

There are three Hop-On/Hop-Off locations:

City Place: (MA Transportation Building) 16 S. Charles St.

Water Front: The Red Beantown Trolley kiosk is located near the New England Aquarium, behind Legal Seafoods if approaching from Atlantic Ave.

Prudential Center:Prudential Center, 800 Boylston St. The Red Beantown Trolley kiosk is located inside the Belvidere Arcade, adjacent to the Hynes Convention Center. Refer to mall directory maps for the Belvidere Arcade.

Hours

April - October: 9:00 am-4:00 pm
November - March: 9:00 am-3:00 pm
December 1 - March 31- Waterfront location operates weekends only and the Prudential location is CLOSED.
Be sure to check with your agent for the last boarding time of the day.

Closings

Major Storms
Thanksgiving Day
Christmas Day
Patriot's Day
All holiday hours are subject to change without notice.

Note

 Limit of a single 2-day pass per card. Trolley passes are valid for consecutive days only. Go Boston Card must be presented on the day of service.

Address

Waterfront: The RED Beantown Trolley booth is located near the New England Aquarium across from Legal Seafoods.
City Place: MA Transportation Building, 16 S. Charles St.
Prudential Center, 800 Boylston St. The Beantown Trolley booth is located in the Prudential Center next to the walkway connecting it to the Copley Mall.
Boston, MA 02116

Public Transportation

Take the T: Blue Line to Aquarium T stop for the Waterfront location.

Take the T: Green Line to Boylston Street stop. Upon exit, take a right on Boylston Street. Make a left on Charles Street. The entrance to City Place is just after P.F. Changs on your left.

Take the T: Green Line "E" to Prudential stop for Prudential Center.

 

Reviews for Hop-on/off Trolley: 2-day pass

Review Snapshot® by PowerReviews Express
 3.3 out of 5 stars (based on 22 customer ratings)
Average Rating for Hop-on/off Trolley: 2-day pass
0% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.
Tried it? Write a Review
Displaying Reviews 1-10 of 22 Back to Top Previous | Next »
GO Card is great but do not use Beantown trolly--The worst!
By bubz from Sterling hts, Mi on
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Smart Destinations Hop-On/Off Beantown Trolley:

We got picked up at Fenway and the trolly (think small cramped bus) was full. Thinking people would get off was wrong. Standing is dangerous and unsafe. There is only overhead bar to hold onto, nothing lower and my wife and two kids were in the very back holding onto themselves. We were told that at the 1st stop there would be a trolly we could get on and sit. Wrong! it was full we were told the next one left in an hour! I asked for a refund and they told me they could not because I bought it through the Go Card. We went and negotiated a good price wiht the upper deck tour, Very roomy busses with great view ( we could see nothing when we were standing on Beantown trolly) While riding the upper deck bus we rarely noticed a Beantown trolly. way too few trolleys. Go car is good but do not use the Beantown option, You can always haggle a good price with one of the others to save money

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No- You may also flag this review.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

Don't make this the reason for buying the Pass
By Goby Traveller Verified Reviewer from Ottawa, ON on
Pros:
Gets You To Prime Sites
Cons:
Buses Always Full Not Enough Buses
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Smart Destinations Hop-On/Off Beantown Trolley:

We were completely disappointed with this Trolley provider. They seem to run the fewest Trolleys. We were in Boston at the peak of tourist season and they were running 40min apart and when they did come they were always full. Thankfully we only used this to get to one attraction and decided to walk back. When we did get on we had to stand. Now if you like taking hop-on hop-off trolleys and not get off then you won't have a problem, otherwise use Old Town Trolley instead. We were in Boston the previous year and had done this trolley tour with Old Town. Much, much better. We were happy with the pass but not with this provider. The Trolley was not the big selling point for us. I would not recommend this be a reason to get the pass unless you plan on just staying on the Trolley the whole time and not get off or else you'll be stuck wasting time like the other reviewers. If you like this kind of tour you're probably better off taking the Duck tours.

Smart Destinations Response: Thank you for taking the time to write this helpful review. It is extremely useful to us, as well as future travelers. We are working with the Trolley company directly to improve the service and agree that it is best not to rely on it as a sole means of transportation around the city. It is an attraction in itself rather than a way to get to each destination.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No- You may also flag this review.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

Use another company
By JJ Verified Reviewer from Louisville, Ky on
Pros:
Came Free With My Go Pass
Cons:
Unfriendly Staff Doesn't Run On Time Uninformed Staff
Best Uses:
General Sightseeing
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Smart Destinations Hop-On/Off Beantown Trolley:

Trolley ran late. Every other trolley carrier came through multiple times before Beantown came once. The trolley was supposed to be there at 120 arrived at 131. When I called they said they had been through and I must have missed them but I sat in front of the stop. Once we did get on our tour guide Sheila was about as exciting as watching wet paint. She was monotone and rude. She seemed to keep talking just as a filler. She told everyone to be quiet so we were forced to sit in silence even when she wasn't talking. The trolley maps were not up to date and there were stops that were not on the map. I would love for smart destinations to try a different carrier if not do not waste your time on this. The trolleys were very narrow and jammed. Not good for bigger people. The only thing good about this company was that you could see some of the attractions once you actually got on but if you take any other tours you will get the same but better information.

Smart Destinations Response: Dear JJ, We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your experience with the Trolley while you were here in Boston. This is extremely important information for us and we want to apologize on the Trolley's behalf. We are contacting them directly to find out more information and to make sure this does not happen again. Sincerely, Go City Card Team
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No- You may also flag this review.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

Best Way to Get Around the City
By Felicia Verified Reviewer from Chicago, IL on
Pros:
Flexible Schedule, Must-see attractions included, Helpful guide booklet, Personalized Itinerary
Best Uses:
Short Stays, General Sightseeing , Culture enthusiasts, Budget Travelers Great for families
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Smart Destinations Hop-On/Off Beantown Trolley:

My mother and I recently took the Hop On Hop Off Trolly and I must admit we were nervous after reading some of the reviews but we were so incredibly happy with our experience and would strongly recommend to anyone wanting to find the easiest way to learn about the city and get the most bang for their buck. Many of the reviews complain about the trolly not showing up, workers being rude, and unknowledgeable. I have no idea where this came from and am sorry for their experiences as we had the most wonderful staff you could ask for (except one), they made every stop on the list, they were super informative and most importantly they ran them every 30 minutes so we got to experience everything we wanted to. It was a wonderful experience and I will definitely be recommending it to my friends and family.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No- You may also flag this review.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

Don't waste your money
By SP vacationer Verified Reviewer from Boston, MA on
Pros:
None
Cons:
Too Long Of A Wait
Best Uses:
None
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Smart Destinations Hop-On/Off Beantown Trolley:

I will start by saying my family and I are very disappointed with this company.. Got a 2 day pass with the BostonGo card we purchased. Once we found where to get our pass we took the trolley to Finway. Got off for the Fenway tour. After the Finway tour we waited almost an hour for another Trolly to show up. We were told they run about 40 minutes apart. We figured possibly bad traffic and didn't think much of it since we then got off at Cambridge and didn't plan on reboarding. the second day we attempted to catch a Trolly at stop 14. The map on there website says it is at theHoliday in but it is actually a Westin. We verified with the valet person at the hotel that we were in the right place for the Trolly pick up. She told us we were and her and the other valet there said they hadn't seen the Trolly for about an hour. Because of this we figured it wouldn't be long. Boy were we wrong. We waited another 35 minutes before calling dispatch. We were told a Trolly should be along soon. So we waited another 15 minutes before giving up because we needed to get lunch. While getting lunch across the street the Trolly finally showed up. We started waiting at 1 pm. It showed up at 2 pm. The valet said they hadn't seen a Trolly for about an hour before we started waiting. So it could have been up to 2 hours between trolleys. If I had a choice of companies to chose I would chose this one unless you want to spend your whole vacation waiting for the Trolly to show up. Very disappointed.

Smart Destinations Response: Hello, First, we want to sincerely apologize for this experience you had with the trolley. We try to let customers know that this is an attraction to be used as a way to see the city, but not as a sole mode of transportation to get around the city. Regardless of this, the trolley should not have taken 2 hours to come by. We are going to address this directly with them to ensure it does not happen again. The information you have provided here is extremely important for us to hear and useful for us to keep improving on the attractions we offer. Please feel free to email us directly if you have any other feedback you want to share and thank you again for taking the time to let us know how we can improve.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No- You may also flag this review.

Good tour
By Pap Ann from England on
Pros:
Money Saver, Informative Driver Happy, Must-see attractions included
Best Uses:
General Sightseeing ,
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Smart Destinations Hop-On/Off Beantown Trolley:

Very useful, good for getting about

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No- You may also flag this review.

[7 of 7 customers found this review helpful]

Not recommended
By Not happy in Boston from Boston, MA on
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Smart Destinations Hop-On/Off Beantown Trolley:

I live in Boston and use the different trolley tours when friends and family come in to visit. This was the 1st and last time I will use Beantown Trolley. They say they come every 40 mins. This could be argued as the driver asked us many times to tell his boss no one was there are no one appeared to be "running" toward us. Having been on several other tour companies, I would say I learned a lot from the various tours I have been on, but SOME of the Beantown driver appear to want to practice their poor stand up routines and tour guide less. All of that I could have avoided until my family I and I were left stranded at one of the stops. We waited over 20 min after the trolley was supposed to arrive (assuming it was rush hour traffic). They I called dispatch and was told it would be another 30 min!?!?!? Sadly we waited and no one showed. We walked 30 min to catch the train. I highly recommend Old Towne Trolley: they pick up/drop off SEVERAL times during an hour and give very informative tours.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No- You may also flag this review.

[2 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

Beantown Trolley ROCKS!
By 9-W-21 Verified Reviewer from Buffalo NY on
Pros:
Dropped Off At Hotel, Picked Up At Hotel
Cons:
One Dud Driver,
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Smart Destinations Hop-On/Off Beantown Trolley:

Visited Boston on a 3 day tour. We didn't know on day one that the Trolley would pick us up at the hotel. Took full advantage on days 2 and 3. Thank yous go to Chris and Tony for getting us back to the hotel safely! Great trolley rides, we toured a few times just cuz the guys were informative and great to talk with.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No- You may also flag this review.

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

Nice way to get a snapshop of the city
By Car Verified Reviewer from Argentina on
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Smart Destinations Hop-On/Off Beantown Trolley:

Very good!

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No- You may also flag this review.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

such a thriller
By ccdenice from Texas on
Pros:
Scotty Was Great
Cons:
John Seemed New
Best Uses:
Nonstop entertainment Informative Funny Knowledgeable Bostonion Tour Guide
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Smart Destinations Hop-On/Off Beantown Trolley:

Scotty was our favorite guide. I can't say enough good things about him. I wish they were all as entertaining and knowledgeable and as Boston as he is.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes / No- You may also flag this review.

Build Your Own Pass

  • +Add attractions and watch your savings grow.